1-paragraph review of ‘The Crazy Ones’ Episode 2

13_019_gplus_thecrazyones_cover

Season 1, Episode 2: “The Spectacular”

Original air date: Oct. 3, 2013

I like to think of myself as an independent thinker, but I was swayed by the CBS advertising campaign that noted the first episode of “The Crazy Ones” was watched by 15 million people. I decided to watch the second episode. Maybe those folks saw something I missed. I was slightly more amused by the second outing for the show starring Robin Williams and Sarah Michelle Gellar as a father-daughter advertising team. I laughed a little bit, but even minutes after watching the show, I can’t remember any joke or bit that stood out. The writers developed interplay between James Wolk and Hamish Linklater. Wolk, who plays the mysterious Bob Benson on “Mad Men,” is charming and has a great screen presence. Linklater is sharp as a man who lacks confidence. Williams does his thing: manic, staccato comedy mixed with warmth and tenderness. I could do with fewer mansturbation jokes. Gellar, I worry, is the show’s weak spot. She glitters on screen, but her comedic chops haven’t impressed me. I love Gellar for all the enjoyment she gave me in “Buffy the Vampire Slayer.” But a better analogy for my continued viewing of “The Crazy Ones” is “The X-Files,” because I want to believe.

One thought on “1-paragraph review of ‘The Crazy Ones’ Episode 2

Your takes.

