5 sentence review of Two and a Half Men

Season 9, Episode 15: “Duchess of Dull-in-the-Sack”

5. “Two and a Half Men” requires a certain suspension of disbelief, but the idea that a woman would have trouble enjoying sex with Ashton Kutcher goes into bad science fiction.

4. Walden (Kutcher) can’t seem to get Zoey (Sophie Winkleman) to enjoy their bedroom escapades, so they try pot brownies which results in her running around in a negligee in a paranoid delusion for much of the episode.

3. When that fails, Walden takes Zoey’s daughter, Ava (the adorable, gap-toothed Talyan Wright), to the zoo and this display of fatherhood skills results in him getting freaky sex.

2. Alan (Jon Cryer) is in the episode and appears miserable, while Jake (Angus T. Jones) makes an appearance stoned and Berta (Conchata Ferrell), whom I’d actually forgotten was on the show, says something gross and sexual.

1. “Two and a Half Men” feels lazy and bored with itself, wandering off into a spinoff  show about Kutcher and Winkleman with Cryer and Jake slowly fading away — just like the laughs on this popular yet uninspired sitcom.

Sophie Winkleman needs to pose for Maxim or GQ or something, because it is a pain to find hot photos of her for this blog. I mean we could get screen caps of the episodes in her sexy lingere, but, frankly, we are not that interested in doing that much work even though we get tons of hits looking for Winkleman pictures.

 

3 thoughts on “5 sentence review of Two and a Half Men

  1. Emperor Tso:

    First of all: no no no no no! Your putative observation that “Two and a Half Men” seems ‘lazy and bored with itself’ is your confusion with your own dreary opinion. Point of fact, this is one of the funniest shows/episodes I’ve seen and with a touch of tenderness. Sophie Winkleman is an outstanding addition to the post Sheen era. “Two and a Half Men” is out of its rut with novel situations and new chemistry! Ashton Kutcher’s Spiderman imitation is just one of many examples.

    As a sign of your subjective malaise I call your attention to the patently wrong and misleading statement you made about Zoey running around ‘for much of the episode’ ‘in a paranoid delusion’.
    It lasts for only for a few minutes. Were you high when you typed this up?
    I guess that’s another strong argument against legalizing pot.
    Also, Zoey clearly mentions trust issues, that’s why when the all-day trip to the zoo ended happily with Zoey’s daughter safely in Walden trusting embrace, the intimacy issues resolved themselves.

    Your comment equating a woman having trouble enjoying sex with Walden is being comparable to bad science fiction is way off the mark. And I know of several (straight Caucasian) women who find that Ashton Kutcher, while ‘nice’, simply isn’t their type. Instead, it seems reflective of your apparent latent attraction to Ashton Kutcher. Well, you needn’t worry; you’re chic- at least in some circles.
    Don’t take it personally; fashion is fine (albeit not with me).
    Anyway, thanks for displaying the cute photo of Sophie.

  2. 5 responses to play42004@yahoo.com:

    5. The review represents my opinion. I wouldn’t call it dreary, but that is my opinion. Your opinion is otherwise. So it goes.

    4. I’ve mostly been amused by the addition of Ashton Kutcher to the cast. Sophie Winkleman has been given more to do than most of the women on the show.

    3. I don’t smoke pot anymore. I did three or four times in 2001 or 2002. I liked it. It made me mellow. I stopped because I had to take a drug test for a job. Then I didn’t have any access. Then I just stopped.

    2. I’m not sure what you mean by “latent attraction to Ashton Kutcher.” He is a handsome man. I am not attracted to him. I think his handsome. I think lots of men are good looking.

    1. I am not fashionable in any sense. I can’t think of a single person who would describe me as fashionable.

Your takes.

